-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Hate Math and Want It To Die

Oh I hate math. I hate math. So much so that you can probably feel it oozing from me whenever I'm asked to evaluate an expression. In particular I hate word problems. You know, those "apply it to real life" situations? Yeah. Hate. HATE

But the math class I have to take to complete my graduation requirements is all about application. The first question on the pre-test reads: "Three kinds of apples are all mixed up in a basket. How many apples must you draw (without looking) from the basket to be sure of getting two apples of one kind?" Now, this might seem like a simple question to most people, easy to figure, visualize, solve...yeah not me. Just looking at that thing makes me want to vomit a little.

I just have to keep reminding myself that I scored really high in reading comprehension, and some of that must roll over into figuring these problems out. If I can't work out how to do that....DOOM!

It doesn't help that my professor seems to be easily discouraged by non-responsive class members. It's a night class, taken by people who work all day...I don't know why she's expecting us to be all chipper. I came in tonight a few minutes early and the class was already fairly full. They were all sitting there silently trying not to make any noise or look at each other:

The Back of Math1030  •  5.15.07

The sounds of me getting to my chair and getting out my pencil made me happy. :)

8:32 p.m. - 2007-05-15

0 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG