-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Government

In my quest for less tv-drone time, I thought I might read a few good books. A few years ago jw gave me a list, but I've read most of them and now can't find it. Luckily, my US Government class (which is much more interesting and fun than I was expecting) requires that I read at least one book, and my professor provided a few suggestions. Ok a lot of suggestions. A very long three page list of suggestions. So, I underlined a few and while I was here yesterday checked some out of the library.

And now I have sort of a crush on Al Franken. I finished his book, Lies and the lying liars who tell them (which is fantastic and hilarious), today while watching the senate vote on the immigration bill. It was nice, sitting quietly and listening to the world in action. Too bad I don't know enough about the process to know if the sucker passed or not. I mean, they voted on something, and it didn't pass, but then they stood up and voted on an ammendment (which also didn't pass) and then someone stood up and started talking about extensions and extra votes or something. My favorite part was after the first vote when the head guy...the speaker, right?...couldn't get everyone to shut up. He kept half-heartedly banging his gavel and asking that the senators take their conversations off the floor. Finally Ted Kennedy stood up and told everyone to shut up. Which they did. You have to do what Ted says, or he'll get you. He'll get you good.

4:23 p.m. - 2007-06-05

1 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG