-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tired

There is a certain kind of tired that happens after a long day at the office, and I don't like it one bit. It's the 'working for a paycheck' tired. It's the 'I have to be doing this' tired. It's a tired I never feel when I've been working on something creative. I could photograph, print, paint, sew, hammer...whatever all day and feel the sort of tired that says something's been accomplished here. But not when I work in an office like I did today.

I'm not saying everyone feels this way. I realize there are people who love working in offices and feel a great sense of accomplishment when the day is over. They ride the train home and smile (at least internally) at the idea that what they did that day mattered. And it does. The world I know wouldn't exist without offices. I'm grateful there are people who work in them and love it.

Something was accomplished today. The work I did was useful and good, and it will make lives better and simpler. Hopefully my very presence was a good thing today. I smiled a lot, and I made other people smile. But on the train ride home, all I could think was how much I wish I had spent the day in the dark, breathing toxic chemistry.

This man made me feel much better. He was rocking out and making quick marks, and was totally oblivious to the many people around him. I need to bring my sketchbook more often.

Art on the Train  9.19.07

6:57 p.m. - 2007-09-19

0 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG