-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Meditative Space

I find myself in a quiet place, or at least craving a quiet place. My photographs lately have all been about the silence one finds in the meditative space. Now that I recognize it, it�s interesting to see. I see the way I shoot when I know it�s for public consumption. Public consumption is noisy. The photos are visually loud, with color or line creating a feeling of frantic motion or at least of someone staring wide-eyed out into nothing. Public photos are about the stories I tell, not necessarily the stories that are true.

I take that back. My stories are true, but they�re not all told truly. They�re told in a way I believe they will be understood. The truth could never be understood completely. The truth is in the silence. The truth is that I am only really happy when I�m quiet, when I�m feeling in control and aware of my surroundings. When there�s no sudden movements. There�s a breath in, and a breath out, and the sacred pause between. When it�s just me, or just me and you, and no words are needed or wanted. When presence is more than enough.

Palladium Artist's Proof #1  •  2.28.07

11:30 p.m. - 2007-03-02

1 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG