-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Frozen North

I'm cold. Every time the door opens I think, once again, that I'm cold. I thought for a while that I was just being a big utah-girl-not-used-to-the-midwest-winters wimp, but no, it's not true. It's ACTUALLY VERY COLD.

It's so cold that I actually laughed out loud a minute ago when I got a severe weather warning from the National Weather Service, telling me to watch out (!) for the 13 degree (f) wind chill. Laughed out loud. Because just three days ago we were told to be careful for the 20 below (BELOW ZERO, PEOPLE!) wind chill which has honestly become commonplace. It's cold.

The Lake agrees with me, and has gone ahead and frozen her ass right over. Proof:

Lake Michigan - Frozen

Lake Michigan - Frozen


If you look, you can see the shards of ice, measuring at least 1.5 to 2 inches thick and over a foot across, most of them. It's the lake folding over on itself as it moved toward the shore.

Surreal.

6:39 p.m. - 2008-02-23

0 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG