-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I joined a gym

Do you think any of the hundreds of thousands of people who sign up for gym memberships in the next few days will actually stick it out for, I don't know, a year? Maybe six months? Three? How many drop out after going to the gym just once?

I read a lot about accepting your body the way it is, allowing it to be what it wants to be, and I'm all for that. I say that we're born with a certain body type, and our lives either solidify or change that, and we should be happy with ourselves no matter what. But I also think that if you feel worried about your health, worried about a family history of diabetes and heart problems, gall bladder disease warning signs, shortness of breath, lack of concentration, depressed mood, mental dullness...well I think the combination of these things should push you in the direction of possibly losing weight (if you're overweight), because losing weight in a healthy, active, mindful way is absolutely shown to combat all of those problems.

I have all of those problems, so I've joined the scores of folks who joined gyms today. It's a hefty fee per month, which in itself is motivation to go. One of the reasons I signed up is that this gym has a 75% active member rate compared to an industry average of 25%. Which means that not only am I motivated and hopeful, but that the people I'm paying to help me might actually be involved and helpful.

All of the old thoughts have come crowding into my head, about failure and about not deserving good things, and about fear and loathing, but you know what? Screw it. I'm a tough broad. I'm ready to kick some ass.

12:11 a.m. - 2008-12-27

1 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG