-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anyone who tells you differently...

What's that line, in The Princess Bride? Oh right: "Life is pain, highness. Anyone who says differently is selling something."

I read a book, many years ago, some life-lessons-served-on-a-platter thing called "The Power of Positive Thinking." In it, the author opines that it is only after someone comes to accept that life is full of pain that they can begin to move past it. It's the only thing I remember from the book. It seems very Dr. Phil to me. Isn't he constantly saying that we can only change what we acknowledge? Man, he's a jackass. Well, in this, at least, I think the jackass is right. Life is full of pain. Heartbreak and horror by the mile. Man's inhumanity to man, time's relentless march, our own flagellation, nature's revenge. It's all painful.

Some days it gets to be too much, and I have to remind myself that there is absolutely nothing I can do about it. I have to take a deep breath, calm myself, and remember that pain is useful. It tells us where the problems lie. Without it, we would never know there was anything wrong. So we can wallow in the hurt or we can stand up and smile, and hurt a little less.

So, wish me luck with that.

10:37 p.m. - 2009-01-18

1 observations

previous - next

----------------------------

Notice:
All images appearing on this
site are copyrighted.

----------------------------

about
archives
d-land
shop
MY TUMBLR BLOG